President Kenyatta registered as Azimio One Kenya party chair, Raila named leader

President Kenyatta registered as Azimio One Kenya party chair, Raila named leader

President Uhuru Kenyatta and ODM leader Raila Odinga at the Azimio La Umoja National Delegates Conference (NDC) on March 12, 2022. PHOTO| PSCU

The Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Coalition Party has officially been registered as a political outfit.

Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu made the announcement, in a gazette notice dated April 14, 2022.

“Pursuant to the Political Parties Act, 2011, the registrar of Political Parties gives notice to the public of the registration of Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Coalition Party which comprises 26 political parties,” the gazette statement reads in part.

The 26 parties include; Jubilee, ODM, Wiper, KANU, NARC, NARC-KENYA, Muungano Party (MP), Maendeleo Chap Chap (MCCP), Democratic Action Party (DAP-K), Devolution Empowerment Party (DEP), United Party of Independent Alliance (UPIA) and the United Democratic Movement (UDM).

The United Progressive Alliance (UPA), Pamoja African Alliance (PAA), Kenya Union Party (KUP), United Democratic Party (UDP), Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG), Kenya Reform Party (KRP), Chama cha Uzalendo (CCU), Party for Peace and Democracy (PPD), National Liberation Party (NLP), People’s Trust Party (PTP), Ubuntu People’s Forum (UPF), Party of National Unity (PNU), Labour Party of Kenya (LPK) and the Party for Growth and Prosperity (PGP), also make up the party.

The outfit has likewise registered its official symbol of five stars, against a blue background in the midst of the words Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Coalition Party. The party’s official colours are blue, orange and white while its formal slogan is Azimio: Inawezekana.

President Uhuru Kenyatta will chair the party’s coalition council while former premier Raila Odinga will serve as the party’s leader and coalition council member.

Wiper leader Kalonzo Musyoka, Narc-Kenya boss Martha Karua, Kitui Governor Charity Ngilu, Mombasa governor Hassan Joho and Narok Senator Gideon Moi will also sit on the council as members.  

They will be joined by Taveta MP Naomi Shaban, Kanduyi legislator Wafula Wamunyinyi, Muranga woman rep Sabina Chege, Abdi Noor Omar Farah and Suna East MP Junet Mohamed, who will also serve as the party’s National Coalition Executive Council Secretary-General.  


Raila Odinga ORPP Azimio la Umoja One Kenya Coalition Party

Want to send us a story? SMS to 25170 or WhatsApp 0743570000 or Submit on Citizen Digital or email

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories