Gov’t directs ministries to ensure compliance with e-Citizen migration before January

Gov’t directs ministries to ensure compliance with e-Citizen migration before January

The Secretary to the Cabinet Mercy Wanjau addressing officials from various state agencies in Syokimau, Machakos County on Wednesday November 8, 2023.

The government has directed all ministries to comply and create awareness on the migration of all government services onto the e-Citizen platform by December 31, 2023.

Secretary to the Cabinet Mercy Wanjau in a letter on Friday called upon all the Cabinet Secretaries to ensure the public is well informed on the 16,000 services expected to be onboarded on the e-Citizen online platform as they prioritise beating the deadline.

 “We request your support in creating awareness within your portfolio about the e-Citizen platform, its benefits, and the importance of compliance with the directive. This includes informing stakeholders about the over 16,000 services currently available on the platform,” Wanjau stated.

“Ensuring that compliance with the directive remains a standing agenda item in all relevant meetings held within your portfolio. This will have the benefit of ensuring consistent progress and accountability towards achieving the onboarding deadline.”

To ensure compliance, Wanjau said the e-Citizen Implementation Committee (e-CIC) would start sending an electronic questionnaire to all Accounting Officers which is aimed at establishing a baseline status of implementation and identification of areas requiring further support.

She thus urged the CSs to ensure the officers complete and submit the questionnaire by 15th December 2023.

In the directive by President William Ruto in August this year all ministries were ordered to terminate all non-designated payment platforms and migrate to the newly designated Paybill Number, 222222 in line with his administration’s plan to digitize government services.

Even as the ministries rush to beat the deadline, the management of 17 state-run agencies, among them KRA and Kenya Power were summoned lastmonth to explain their failure to comply with the executive order.

Other agencies among the 17 include; the Kenya National Examination Council, National Hospital Insurance Fund, Higher Education Loans Board, the Hustler Fund and the Agricultural Finance Corporation.

The Kenyatta National Hospital, Kenya Bureau of Standards, Kenya Ports Authority, National Cereals and Produce Board, National Aids Control Council, the Mathari Referral and Teaching Hospital, Kenya Railways Corporation, Kenya Ferry Services Limited, Kenya National Trading Corporation and the Kenya School of Government have also been summoned.


Citizen Digital Citizen TV Kenya President William Ruto Mercy Wanjau eCitizen

Want to send us a story? SMS to 25170 or WhatsApp 0743570000 or Submit on Citizen Digital or email

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories