IEBC: All set for Migori Senate by-election tomorrow

IEBC: All set for Migori Senate by-election tomorrow

It is all systems go as the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) prepares to conduct the Migori Senatorial by-election on Monday, October 8.

According to IEBC Commissioner Abdi Gulie and Migori Returning Officer Ruth Kulundu, who witnessed the distribution of the election materials including ballot papers to various constituency tallying centres, the commission is ready for the exercise.


Mr. Gulie said all the polling centers would have the election materials by Sunday evening ahead of the Monday polls.

He promised a free and fair election, further asking the voters in Migori County to come out and exercise their democratic right.

“In terms of preparation for poll materials and poll officials, we have finalized all preparations. We hope the people of Migori will come out in large numbers to exercise their democratic right and elect a Senator of their choice,” said the commissioner.

Regional Police Commander Leonard Katana, also assured better security saying they have enough officers to oversee the exercise.

“Our mandate is to provide a secure, safe environment to the people of Migori. The law says that when you vote you leave the polling station and wait for the results,” said the police boss.

“To those few who think that they can bring other youth to this region to do what is not right… I want to appeal to the youth not to be misused by anybody.”

The ballot paper for the by-election, according to IEBC, contains names of six candidates including; Dr. Ochilo Ayako (Orange Democratic Movement), Eddy Oketch (Federal Party of Kenya), Peter Jobando (Green Congress Party of Kenya), Solomon Hodo (People’s Democratic Party) as well as independent candidates Samwel Otieno and Dickson Ogola.

However, despite his name being on the ballot, PDP candidate Solomon Hodo bolted out of the race a week ago.

The commission added that 388,632 voters are expected to participate in the poll exercise that will be conducted in 826 polling stations in Migori County.


IEBC Eddy Oketch Ochillo Ayacko migori senatorial by-election Police Commander Leonard Katana

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories