Justice Daniel Musinga sworn in as Court of Appeal president

Justice Daniel Musinga sworn in as Court of Appeal president

Judge Daniel Musinga was on Friday sworn in as Court of Appeal President at a ceremony presided over by Chief Justice Martha Koome.

Musinga was elected by the Appeal judges on May 24 to replace Justice William Ouko, who was then elevated to Kenya’s apex court, the Supreme Court.

After his swearing in, Musinga said his administration will listen to ideas that will assist in promoting efficient and effective service delivery and in regular consultation with the leadership of the Judiciary.

— Citizen TV Kenya (@citizentvkenya) June 11, 2021

He is the third President of the Court of Appeal, following Justice Kihara Kariuki (now Attorney General), the first, and Justice Ouko, who succeeded Kariuki.

The Court of Appeal has 20 Judges: D. Musinga, R. Nambuye, W. Karanja, H. Okwengu, M. Warsame, A. Makhandia, P. Kiage, G. Kairu, K. M’Inoti, A. Murgor, F. Sichale, J. Mohammed, S.oleKantai, M. Mbogholi, H. Omondi, M. Ngugi, F. Tuiyott, P. Nyamweya, J. Lesiit, and K. Laibuta

With his coronation, he has been given the administrative responsibility of selecting judges to hear appeals, including the Building Bridges Initiative appeal, which is currently before the court.

Justice Musinga, who was appointed to the High Court in 2003, had established himself as a distinguished legal practitioner since his admission to the bar in 1988.

Justice Musinga is the current chairman of the Judiciary Committee on Elections (JCE), having been appointed by retired Chief Justice David Maraga in January.


Daniel Musinga

Want to send us a story? Submit on Wananchi Reporting on the Citizen Digital App or Send an email to wananchi@royalmedia.co.ke or Send an SMS to 25170 or WhatsApp on 0743570000

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories