Kibra ODM Nominations: Voters say names missing from register

The Orange Democratic (ODM) party nominations kicked off on Saturday morning, to determine who will fly the party’s flag in the Kibra by-elections slated for November.

The exercise is however reported to be marred with numerous complains including delays in opening of polling centres and missing names from the register.

Confusion also hit some voting centres as voters names were found to be missing from the IEBC register.

In Ayany centre, the exercise has not yet began, in what the officials say is due to inadequate human resource.

ODM NEB chairperson Judith Pareno however said that the challenges are being addressed.

10 candidates have so far been approved to battle it out in the exercise, that will be conducted in all the 24 centres comprising of 180 polling centres gazetted by the IEBC.

The 10 are; Stephen Okello Oguwa, Christone Odhiambo Owino, Peter Ochieng’ Orero, Tony Ogola Sira Sine, Reuben William Ayako Ojijo, Obaricks Eric Ochieng’ Obayi, Brian Shem Owino, Benson Musungu, John Milla Otieno and Bernard Otieno Okoth.

“We want every candidate to be satisfied and it is our prayer that all the aspirants will behave well to make the exercise a success,” said ODM Secretary General Edwin Sifuna on Thursday.

The exercise had earlier on been postponed due to the national census exercise.


Kibra odm

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories