MPs vote to fire EACC boss, deputy

MPs vote to fire EACC boss, deputy

Members of the National Assembly Thursday voted to remove Halake Waqo as the Chief Executive Officer of the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC).

Waqo and his deputy Michael Mubea were removed after the Members of Parliament successfully passed the Ethics and Ant-Corruption Commission Amendment Bill 2015.

70 MPs voted in support of the amendments while 39 voted against the amendments to the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Amendment Bill 2015.

The removal of Mubea comes barely three months after he was suspended by former EACC chair Mumo Matemu and later reinstated by Mr. Waqo (CEO).

Mumo and his deputy, Irene Keino, resigned over a month ago even as the National Assembly was debate on whether to remove them from office or not.

The two cited personal reasons as well as vendetta from a section of powerful persons in the country.

Before their resignation, EACC Commissioner Prof. Jane Osongo tendered her resignation letter saying that she had been intimidated by powerful figures in the government.

The resignation of the three (Matemu, Keino and Prof. Osongo) left EACC without a commissioner.

The task now lies ahead for President Uhuru Kenyatta to determine of the fate of Waqo and Mubea.

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories