Rigathi, Sonko, Waiguru, Babu Owino should not be cleared to vie, Integrity Alliance tells IEBC

Rigathi, Sonko, Waiguru, Babu Owino should not be cleared to vie, Integrity Alliance tells IEBC

Kenya Kwanza Alliance presidential running mate Rigathi Gachagua and Mombasa governorship hopeful Mike Sonko are among the leaders the National Integrity Alliance (NIA) has ‘red-carded’ from contesting in the August polls.

The leaders were announced on Sunday as part of this year’s NIA Red Card Campaign which aims to bar individuals with ‘questionable’ integrity from being elected into public office in the General Election.

Rigathi and Sonko join Kiringaga Governor Ann Waiguru, Malindi MP Aisha Jumwa, Embakasi East MP Babu Owino, former Nairobi MP Evans Kidero, as well as Kapseret MP Oscar Sudi who have all been flagged.

​​“We have been closely monitoring key developments in regard to the enforcement of Chapter 6 of the Constitution on leadership and integrity. With the 9 th August 2022 general elections drawing closer, we note that various political formations have nominated candidates to vie for elective seats, and various individuals have also presented themselves to contest as independent candidates,” NIA said in a statement.

“Regrettably a number of these political aspirants have tainted integrity.” 

NIA said the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commision (IEBC) should not clear Rigathi to run for the deputy president’s office because he is implicated in graft, resulting in action by the Assets and Recovery Authority freezing accounts with approx. Ksh. 200 million in unexplained assets.

They also cited ​​his charges of Conspiracy to defraud County Government of Nyeri and fraudulent acquisition of public property.

Sonko was on the other hand red-carded on the basis of his impeachment as Governor of Nairobi in December 2020, as well as confessing to being intoxicated when he was signing the deed of transfer for Nairobi Metropolitan Services.

Below is the complete list of the leaders NIA has red-carded:

  1. Aisha Jumwa – Malindi gubernatorial aspirant

  • Ali Korane – Garissa gubernatorial aspirant

  • Anne Waiguru – Kirinyaga gubernatorial aspirant

  • Babu Owino – Embakasi East MP aspirant

  • Cleophas Malala – Kakamega gubernatorial aspirant

  • Daniel Manduku – Nyaribari Masaba MP aspirant

  • Didmus Barasa – Kimilili MP aspirant

  • Evans Kidero – Homa Bay gubernatorial aspirant

  • Fahim Twaha – Lamu gubernatorial aspirant

  • Godhana Dhadho Gaddae – Tana River gubernatorial aspirant

  • Johanna Ng’eno – Emurrua Dikir MP aspirant

  • John Walukhe – Sirisia MP aspirant

  • Joseph Samal – Isiolo North MP aspirant

  • Kembi Gitura- Muranga senatorial aspirant

  • Lilian Omollo – Embu senatorial aspirant

  • Mathew Lempurkel – Laikipia North MP aspirant

  • Mike Mbuvi Sonko – Mombasa gubernatorial aspirant

  • Mohamed Abdi Mohamud – Wajir gubernatorial aspirant

  • Muthomi Njuki – Tharaka Nithi gubernatorial aspirant

  • Oscar Sudi – Kapseret MP aspirant

  • Phillip Kaloki – Nairobi county deputy gubernatorial aspirant

  • Rigathi Gachagua – Deputy President nominee

  • Samson Cherargei – Nandi senatorial aspirant

  • Samuel Arama – Nakuru Town West MP aspirant

  • Sospeter Ojaamong’ – Teso South MP aspirant

  • NIA is a citizen-centered integrity and anti-corruption coalition comprising Transparency International Kenya (TI-Kenya), Inuka Kenya Ni Sisi!, Mzalendo Trust, The Institute for Social Accountability (TISA), and The Kenya Human Rights Commission (KHRC).

    The Red Card 2022 list, NIA said, was generated from authentic and trusted investigative reports. 

    “It includes information gathered from existing reports by oversight institutions including, the Office of the Auditor General (OAG), the Ethics & Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC), Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR), the Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP), National Cohesion and Integration Commission (NCIC), Parliament and various cases before the courts both concluded and active,” the coalition said.

    The coalition had also published a red list of politicians in the lead up to the 2017 polls.


    IEBC Babu Owino Mike Sonko Aisha Jumwa Rigathi Gachagua National Integrity Alliance

    Want to send us a story? Submit on Wananchi Reporting on the Citizen Digital App or Send an email to wananchi@royalmedia.co.ke or Send an SMS to 25170 or WhatsApp on 0743570000

    Leave a Comment


    No comments yet.

    latest stories