President Ruto sends entire Cabinet on a tree planting expedition

President Ruto sends entire Cabinet on a tree planting expedition

A tree-planting exercise takes place in Siaya County on Monday, November 13, 2023. Photo/Citizen Digital.

President William Ruto is slated to lead a nationwide tree planting effort in Makindu, Makueni County, today, November 13.

The government's ambitious goal is to plant 150 million trees by the end of the day, aligning with the public holiday declared by Interior Cabinet Secretary Kithure Kindiki on November 7, 2023.

As part of a larger plan to plant 15 billion trees over the next decade, various Cabinet Secretaries will take charge of similar exercises across different counties. 

The distribution of responsibilities is as follows:

1. Ababu Namwamba (Cabinet Secretary for Youth Affairs, Sports, and the Arts) - Kilifi/Bungoma

2. Moses Kuria (Cabinet Secretary for Public Service, Performance, and Delivery Management) - Kisumu/Siaya

3. Ezekiel Machogu (Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of Education) - Migori and Trans Nzoia Counties

4. Eliud Owalo (Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Information, Communication, and the Digital Economy) - Nandi and Kisii Counties

5. Florence Bore (Cabinet Secretary for Labour and Social Protection) - Nyamira and Bomet Counties

6. Zacharia Njeru (Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Water, Sanitation, and Irrigation) - Kajiado and Kiambu Counties

7. Alfred Mutua (Tourism and Wildlife Cabinet Secretary) - Kitui and Taita Taveta Counties 

8. Salim Mvurya (Mining, Blue Economy, and Maritime Affairs Cabinet Secretary) - Tana River and Lamu Counties

9. Aisha Jumwa (Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Gender, Culture, the Arts, and Heritage) -  Kakamega and Kwale Counties

10. Aden Duale (Cabinet Secretary for the Ministry of Defence): Nakuru and Isiolo Counties 

11. Kipchumba Murkomen (Cabinet Secretary for Roads, Transport, and Public Works) - Homabay and Mombasa Counties 

12. Susan Nakhumicha (Cabinet Secretary for Roads, Transport, and Public Works) - Elgeyo Marakwet and West Pokot

13. Simon Chelugui (Cabinet Secretary for Cooperatives and Micro and Small Enterprise) - Uasin Gishu and Murang’a Counties 

14. Rebecca Miano (Cabinet Secretary for Investments, Trade & Industry): Embu/Narok

15. Davis Chirchir (Cabinet Secretary for Energy and Petroleum) - Baringo and Kericho Counties 

16. Soipan Tuya (Cabinet Secretary for Environment, Climate Change, and Forestry) - Vihiga County 

17. Peninah Malonza (Cabinet Secretary for Ministry of EAC, Arid and Semi-Arid Lands, and Regional Development) - Busia and Meru Counties

18. Njuguna Ndung’u (Cabinet Secretary, National Treasury & Economic Planning) - Nyandarua and Machakos Counties 

19. Alice Wahome (Cabinet Secretary for Water, Sanitation, and Irrigation) - Laikipia and Nyeri Counties

20. Kithure Kindiki (Cabinet Secretary of Interior and Administration): Mandera, Wajir, Garissa, Turkana and Marsabit Counties. 

21. Musalia Mudavadi (Prime Cabinet Secretary) - Tharaka Nithi and Kirinyaga Counties

22. Mithika Linturi (Cabinet Secretary for Agriculture) - Makueni and Samburu Counties 

23. Mercy Wanjau (Secretary to the Cabinet) - Nairobi County

24. Felix Koskei (Head of Public Service and the President's Chief of Staff) - Nairobi County 

To ensure the success of the project, Environment CS Soipan Tuya on Sunday, emphasized that the government is relying on scientific guidance to determine the types of trees to be planted.

Additionally, they will incorporate new-age technology, such as aerial seeding, to enhance large-scale planting efforts.

The tree-planting initiative will span all 47 counties in Kenya, with Cabinet Secretaries and Governors overseeing the process, encouraging widespread participation from citizens. 


Citizen Digital William Ruto Soipan Tuya Tree Planting

Want to send us a story? SMS to 25170 or WhatsApp 0743570000 or Submit on Citizen Digital or email

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories