Sabina Chege, Hezena Lemaletian, Karen Nyamu, John Mbadi among 32 nominated to Parliament

Sabina Chege, Hezena Lemaletian, Karen Nyamu, John Mbadi among 32 nominated to Parliament

[Top to Bottom] - Sabina Chege, Hezena Lematien, Karen Nyamu, and John Mbadi. PHOTOS | COURTESY

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has gazetted the list of political parties' nominated Members of Parliament (MPs), Senators, Woman Representatives, Youth Representatives and Persons Living with Disabilities.

The total number of the nominated representatives across all the said positions are 32; with President-elect William Ruto’s Kenya Kwanza alliance taking up 18 slots, while Raila Odinga’s Azimio la Umoja One Kenya gobbled the remaining 14.

"Each candidate reflects the appropriate number of qualified candidates and alternates between male and female, save for the women candidates under Article 98 (1) (b) of the Constitution, in priority in which they were listed," IEBC Chairperson Wafula Chebukati said in the gazette notice.

"The seats referred to in the schedules have been allocated in proportion to the total number of seats won by the candidates of the political party at the general election held on the 9th August, 2022."

Sabina Chege (Jubilee) and John Mbadi (ODM) are among 5 Azimio members - out of the total 16 - nominated to the National Assembly, alongside Irene Nyakerario Mayaka (ODM), Umulkher Harun Mohamed (ODM), with Wiper party’s slot still not allocated due to an interim court order.

Kenya Kwanza nominees to the National Assembly include; UDA’s Jackson Kipkemoi Kosgei, Teresia Wanjiru Mwangi, as well as ANC’s Abdisirat Khalif Ali and Suleka Hulbale Harun of UDM.

UDA Secretary General Veronica Maina led the 9 women members nominated to the Senate from the Kenya Kwanza side, including; Roselinda Soipan Tuya, Miraj Abdillahi Abdulrahman, Gloria Magoma Orwoba, Joyce Chepkoech Korir, Karen Nyamu, Peris Tobiko, Maureen Tabitha Mutinda, all of the Ruto-led party, as well as Mariam Sheikh Omar of UDM.

Azimio’s nominees, on the other hand, are; ODM’s Catherine Mumma, Beatrice Akinyi Oyomo, Hamida Ali Kibwana, Betty Batuli Montet, Beth Kalunda Syengo, Jubilee’s Margaret Kamar and Shakila Abdalla of Wiper.

The Odinga-led ODM party picked Hezena Lemaletian for its Youth Representative to the Senate slot while Ruto’s UDA selected Raphael Chimera Mwinzangu.

Musician Crystal Asige heads to the Senate to represent Persons with Disabilities on an ODM ticket while George Mungai Mbugua picks up UDA’s slot.


IEBC Wafula Chebukati Kenya Kwanza Azimio Nominated MPs

Want to send us a story? SMS to 25170 or WhatsApp 0743570000 or Submit on Citizen Digital or email

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories