Kapaito Sh1.5 million richer after MVP award, Tusker dominate gala

Kapaito Sh1.5 million richer after MVP award, Tusker dominate gala

Chief football writer

Kariobangi Sharks striker Eric Kapaito is the Most Valuable Player of the Football Kenya Federation League (FKF-PL) for the 2020/2021 season.

Kapaito, who also took home the Golden Boot award having scored 24 goals in the season, beat Tusker’s Eugene Asike, Lawrence Juma, James Saruni, Henry Meja and Elvis Rupia to the coveted award, after a stellar season with Sharks.

This is Kapaito’s second MVP award, having won the gong in the 2018 season when he also won the Golden Boot.

“I want to encourage the players who are playing in the grassroots, the upcoming ones who are not known. It is possible, they can trust the process,” Kapaito said shortly after receiving the award, which came with Sh1 million plus the Sh 500,000 he pocketed for the Golden Boot, going home Sh1.5 million richer.

Tusker FC dazzled the most at the  gala, taking five of the 12 awards, with Robert Matano winning the Coach of the Year award, Henry Meja the Young Player of the Year while Eugene Asike scooped the Defender of the Year award.

The Team Manager of the Year Award also went to Tusker, their former player George Opondo winning it as the champions sealed the Digital Team of the Year Award too, personally awarded to journalist Timothy Olobulu who ensured the team was most visible on social media and its official pages.

Lawrence Juma of Sofapaka was named Midfielder of the Year, James Saruni the Golden Glove winner as Kariobangi Sharks won the Fairplay Team of the Year Award.

FIFA referee Peter Waweru won the Referee of the Year Award, with Mary Njoroge taking the Assistant Referee of the Year Award.

Category winners from the Coach of the Year, Golden Glove and MVP each received a 55’ TV courtesy of StarTimes, with the Golden Glove and Golden Boot category getting two nights fully paid for trips at the Maasai Mara courtesy of Bonfire Adventures. The MVP also gets three nights in Mombasa.

Former Harambee Starlets player, the late Rosemary Aluoch ‘Mara’ Kadondi was feted for her contribution to the game in the President’s Award. Her only daughter was present to receive the award.

In his speech during the gala, FKF President Nick Mwendwa noted it took concerted efforts to successfully conclude the season under unprecedented circumstances orchestrated by Covid-19.

“I thank the players, the officials and all stakeholders for working together to ensure we made it despite all the challenges. We especially had the challenge of playing venues, and we had to improvise the Utalii Grounds, Ruaraka and Thika Stadium as Nyayo Stadium and Kasarani were unavailable. We pray one day we can have all clubs with own stadium, and it’s a dream to work for,” noted Mwendwa.

Mwendwa also regretted that the title sponsor had to pull out towards the tail end of the season, revealing the federation is in the process of bringing on board another one.

Awards in Summary

Best Assistant Referee

Winner -Mary Njoroge – Ksh 300,000

1st Runners up- Gilbert Cheruyoit – Sh 200,000

2nd Runners up- Samuel Kuria – Sh 100,000

Referee of the Year

Winner- Peter Waweru Kamaku – Sh 300,000

1st Runners up- Antony Ogwayo – Sh 200,000

2nd Runners up- Davies Omweno- Sh 100,000

Digital Team of the Year

Winner –Tusker FC  (Timothy Olobulu) – Sh 200,000

1st Runners up- Bandari FC – Sh 150,000

2nd Runners up Kariobangi Sharks – Sh 100,000

Fair Play Award

Winner- Sh 300,000-Kariobangi Sharks

 Team Manager of the Year

Winner- George Opondo – Sh 300,000

1st Runners up- Noah Otieno – Sh 200,000

2nd Runners up- Moses Jobita- Sh 100,000

Young Player of the Year

Winner –Henry Meja Atola – Sh 300,000

1st Runners up -Lawrence Luvanda Sh 200,000

2nd Runners up Sylvester Owino – Sh 100,000

Midfielder of the Year

Winner- Lawrence Juma – Sh 300,000

1st Runners up- Kevin Kimani – Sh 200,000

2nd Runners up- Jackson Macharia Sh 100,000

Defender of the Year

Winner – Eugene Asike Ambuchi – Sh 300,000

1st Runners up- David Kalama – Sh 200,000

2nd Runners up -Nashon Alembi Nanyendo – Sh 100,000

Golden Glove

Winner-James Saruni – Sh 500,000

1st Runners Up-Joseph Okoth – Sh 300,000

2nd Runners Up-Steve Njuge – Sh 300,000

 Golden Boot

Winner – Erick Kapaito – Sh 500,000

1st Runners up – Elvis Rupia – Sh 300,000

2nd Runners up – Lawrence Juma- Sh 150,000

President’s Award

Rosemary Aluoch Kadondi (deceased) – Sh 500,000

Coach of the Year

Winner- Robert Matano- Ksh 500,000

1st Runners up -Zedekiah Otieno – Ksh 300,000

2nd Runners up- Andre Casa Mbungo- Ksh 150,000

 Most Valuable Player

Erick Kapaito – Sh 1 Million


Robert Matano MVP awards Eric Kapaito FKF-PL gala

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories