Kenya to host Africa Cup of Nations hockey qualifiers

Kenya will host the 2021 Hockey Africa Cup of Nations regional qualifiers on May 11-17 at the Sikh Union Hockey Stadium.

In the qualification format released by the Africa Hockey Federation (AHF), teams have been divided into three regions with Kenya being placed in the North-East region that comprises of eight countries including; Egypt, Burundi, Libya, Seychelles, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

The two top teams from the three regions will qualify for the continental championship in both men and women categories.

Further, the two top ranked teams in the continent automatically qualifies for the tournament whose venue is yet to be announced.

South Africa’s teams for both men and women as well as Egypt (men) and Ghana (women) have thus sealed a berth at the championships and consequently will not participate in the qualifiers.

The North-West Africa region comprises of Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Morocco, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and Togo.

Botswana, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe form the Central-South region.

With the African event also doubling as the 2022 World Cup qualifier, the champions will automatically qualify for the global event while the first runners up will go through the final phase of qualifiers.

At the last edition of the African Cup of Nations tournament held in Ismailia, Egypt in 2017, Kenyan teams placed fourth in both categories.

Kenya hosted the 2013 tournament with men’s team clinching bronze as the women’s team ranking fourth.

At the same time, Ghana will host the Junior Africa Cup on September 13-20 while the annual Africa Cup for Club Championships will be held in Blantyre, Malawi between November 30- December 5.



Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories