KRU get KSh9m boost for National Sevens circuit

Kenya Rugby Union (KRU) has received a KSh9 million sponsorship boost ahead of the National Sevens circuit whose first leg kicks off this weekend in Nakuru.

The 20th edition of the local sevens circuit will as a result of this sponsorship be referred to as the Stanbic Bank National Sevens circuit.

The local bank which also sponsors Kenya Cup and Kabeberi series host Mwamba RFC signed a season-long pact with the Kenya Rugby Union on Monday morning will be a huge boost for the financially tightened Union.

“The sponsorship will be channeled to the six host clubs on the National Sevens Circuit who will each receive KSh1million, It will also aid the Union’s administrative costs during the duration of the circuit,” KRU boss Richard Omwela said after unveiling the new partnership.

Local rugby teams will compete for the National Sevens Circuit silverware by accumulating points based on their points accumulation in each circuit.

The season’s circuit comprises of 6 tournaments in 6 cities and towns across the country where fans will get to experience local rugby talent.

Kabras RFC are the current defending champion’s after scooping three of the six legs of the 2017 edition.

However with key players missing out of the first three legs due to national team commitments,clubs will tend to expose the upcoming talent for better days ahead.

Stanbic National Sevens Circuit Venues and Dates

Nakuru: Prinsloo Sevens: 21st /22nd July – Nakuru Athletic Club

Eldoret: Sepetuka Sevens: 28th/29th July – Eldoret Sports Club

Machakos: Kabeberi Sevens: 18th/19th August – Kenyatta Stadium

Mombasa: Driftwood Sevens: 25th/26th August – Mombasa Sports Club

Kisumu: Dala Sevens: 8th/9th September – Mamboleo Showground

Nairobi: Christie Sevens: 15th/16th September – RFUEA Ground


kru National Sevens Circuit

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories