Makwatta dropped as Kimanzi names final squad for CECAFA

Harambee Stars coach Francis Kimanzi has named the final squad for the upcoming CECAFA Senior Championships set to kick off this weekend in Kampala, Uganda.

In his final 20 men list, there are only two natural strikers, Ulinzi Stars’ Oscar Wamalwa and Tusker FC’s Timothy Otieno, with AFC Leopards man John Mark Maktwatta dropped.

Kimanzi dropped six more players from his initial team in camp; Hassan Abdallah (Bandari), Elvis Nandwa (Ulinzi), Ben Omala (Western Stima), Reagan Otieno (KCB) and Tusker’s Luke Namanda.

The coach has given Sweden based Anthony Wambani a chance in the team, with yet another notable inclusion being Western Stima custodian and set-piece taker, Samuel Odhiambo.

Wazito prodigy Musa Masika, Kakamega Homeboyz’s Moses Mudavadi, and Mathare United quartet of Andrew Juma, Kevin Kimani, David Owino and Roy Okal have also made the final squad.

The team jets out on Friday, at 1pm, with their title defence opener being against Tanzania’s Kilimanjaro Stars on Sunday afternoon.

Final squad


Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Samuel Odhiambo (Western Stima)


Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks)


Anthony Wambani (Vasalunds IF), Roy Okal (Mathare United), Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Musa Masika (Wazito), Abdallah Hassan (Bandari), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz), Lawrence Juma (Gor Mahia), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Kevin Kimani (Mathare United), Cliffton Miheso (Gor Mahia)


Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars), Timothy Otieno (Tusker)


kenya CECAFA Francis Kimanzi Harambee Stars John Mark Makwatta 2019 Senior Challenge

Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories