No Adebayor in Le Roy’s squad as Togo readies for Nairobi return

Togo will be without veteran striker Emmanuel Adebayor  against Kenya, when the two sides clash on Monday at the Moi International Sports Centre Kasarani in their second 2021 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifier. Head coach Claude le Roy omitted the Kayserispor striker from his 23-man squad, for the two qualifying matches in a space of four days. They will first welcome Comoros in Lomé on Thursday, then travel to Nairobi to play Harambee Stars. Drawing from the history between the two teams, Kenya has an upper hand having won at home, 3-0 in 2002 in the last meeting in Nairobi. Then coach Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee led Harambee Stars to a 3-0 victory en route to the 2004 AFCON, in Tunisia. Current Sofapaka coach John Baraza, former Captain Musa Otieno and Dennis Oliech were on target, as Kenya humbled the Western Africa nation. In the reverse fixture however in 2003, Alessandro Faria struck twice to give Togo a 2-0 win over Kenya in Lome, to see his side finish second in Group Five with 10 points, three behind leaders Kenya. Dennis Oliech in a file photo. However, Togo rose to qualify for the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany, where they lost all the matches against Switzerland, South Korea and France. The team has also endured difficult times recently, including missing out on the 2019 AFCON fiesta in Egypt, where Hrambee Stars qualified. Apart from Egypt and Togo, Stars are in Group together with Comoros. Stars are in the meantime, set to face Egypt in the first qualifying match on Thursday at 19:00 hours East African time at the Borg El Arab Stadium, Alexandria in Egypt. The Football Kenya Federation (FKF) has announced the ticketing information for the match. Fans will have to part with Sh. 200 to access the stands, with VIP Tickets will be sold at Sh. 500. Togo Full Squad Goalkeepers Abotchi Dove (JDR Stars, South Africa), Barcola Malcolm (Olympic Lyon U19, France) and Abdoul-Moubarak Aïgba (AS OTR, Togo). Defenders Akakpo Wilson (Al Ittihad, Egypt), Ama Tchoutchoui Kangnivi (Gbohloesu, Togo), Bodé Abdoul (AS Togo, Togo), Gbegnon Simon (CD Mirandes, Spain), Djene Dakonam (Getafe, Spain), Lawson Steve (Livingstone, Scotland), Olufade James (US Doula), Sama Hakim (Belenenses, Portugal). Midfield Atakora Lalawélé (Kazma SC, Kuwait), Franco Atchou (BK Fremad, Denmark), Ayité Floyd (Genclerbirligi, Turkey), David Hennen (Sporting Charleroi, Belgium), Bebou Ilhas (Hoffenheim, Germany), Dossevi Matthew (Toulouse, France), Sunu Gilles (BB Erzurumspor, Turkey), Nane Richard (ASCK, Togo). Strikers Marouf Tchakei (ASKO Kara Lomé, Togo), Denkey Kevin (Nimes, France), Laba Fo-Doh (Al Ain, UAE), Mlapa Peniel (Kalba, UAE).

latest stories