Oruko elected new FKF Kisumu County chair in chaotic poll

Dickson Oruko has been elected as the new Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Chairman for Kisumu County after trouncing Moses Adagala 36 votes to five following the polls conducted nationally on Saturday.

In Vihiga County, Kelvin Mwangu floored Gibert Mwendwa 12-6 votes to claim the Vihiga County FKF chairman seat.

While rejecting the region’s electoral set up, Mwendwa refused to concede defeat and pronounced himself the winner at a Ramulla restaurant in the neighbouring Siaya County in the company of his supporters.

The elections in Kisumu were also marred by chaos and had to be temporarily stopped after supporters of Adagala stormed the voting hall at Ahero multi purpose hall in Nyando ostensibly to scuttle the process.

FKF elections board director Patrick Onyango who oversaw the polls says quick police intervention restored order and the polls continued.

In the polls, Benta Owuor was elected the women representative after getting 36 votes.

Secretary position went to Seth Oduor, George Ouma was elected the treasurer while Calvin Ogallo bagged the youth representative post.

Mwangu vowed to streamline the Vihiga FKF league, tap and expose talent while sourcing for sponsorships.

-Report by Allan Obiero and Francis Onguko



Leave a Comment


No comments yet.

latest stories